The John Connell Silent Approach Award recognises significant initiatives to reduce noise nuisance for the benefit of the community, to improve the environment. Terberg Matec UK received this Award for its quiet, efficient, low voltage electric bin lifts that are incorporated into waste collection vehicles to help mitigate the noise of waste collection and improve service care for local residents.

The Silent Approach Award, sponsored by Brigade Electronics, was shared by Broxtowe Borough Council for its initiative as part of the Nottingham Consortium of Councils, for which Terberg Matec UK are the lead contractors, in purchasing the Terberg equipment. 

Gary Fisher, Terberg Contracts Manager for the Nottinghamshire Consortium said;
‘We are proud to receive this award, one that is testament to the innovative thinking and environmentally conscious approach employed by R&D department. Our line of electric lifts have proven very popular since their development not only due to the noise reductions available but thanks to the significant fuel savings possible by specifying them’. 

The 2015 John Connell Awards Ceremony, organised by the Noise Abatement Society (NAS), was held at the Palace of Westminster in November, hosted by Bob Neill, MP for Bromley & Chislehurst and attended by local authorities, acoustics experts, companies committed to providing quieter products and services, high profile individuals who campaign for a more peaceful environment.
Speakers included Rory Stewart MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Environment and Rural Affairs, and Duncan Price, Department of Transport.

Gloria Elliott, Chief Executive of NAS, and daughter of John Connell, said: 
‘NAS supports Terberg Matec UK’s  production of quieter operating machines which help reduce early morning noisy waste collections, which I am sure Broxtowe residents will appreciate’.

The Noise Abatement Society (NAS) is a dynamic UK charity whose remit is to raise awareness about noise pollution. Its internationally respected work helps to relieve the physical and mental distress caused by excessive noise which profoundly affects health, learning, productivity and social cohesion.

The John Connell Awards are named after the NAS’ far-sighted founder John Connell OBE, who lobbied the Noise Abatement Act through Parliament in 1960 when noise became a statutory nuisance in the UK for the first time. These annual awards, known as the ‘Noise Oscars’, are now in their 14th year. They acknowledge the importance of the quality of sound in our lives, and champion vital advances in reducing the negative impact of unnecessary noise for the public benefit. Over 150 recipients from local authorities, industry, organisations and individuals have been honoured for the significant impact they have made to improve the aural environment. 

Click here to enquire about this story 

N.B. The information contained in this entry is provided by Terberg Matec UK Ltd, and does not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the publisher.

© Faversham House Group Ltd 2015. edie news articles may be copied or forwarded for individual use only. No other reproduction or distribution is permitted without prior written consent.