And the award goes to…

The finalists of the second annual Water Industry Achievement Awards have been chosen and, judging by the success of last year's event, the awards dinner promises to be a night to remember

Following a successful debut in 2007, the Water Industry Achievement Awards (WIAAs) 2008 are set to be a highlight of Sustainabilitylive! and IWEX.

The winners will be named and presented with their awards at a black-tie dinner at the International Conference Centre, Birmingham, on 21 May 2008.

Created by two of the industry’s leading publications – Faversham House Group’s sister titles Water & Wastewater Treatment and WET News – the WIAAs recognise and reward excellence over the past 12 months in the UK water industry.

Water companies, authorities, the whole supply chain, and research establishments were invited to enter the awards and two new categories have been added for 2008.

Water Industry Achievement Awards

finalists & sponsors


Daniel Contractors


The Integrated Alliance


Daniel Contractors

Imtech Process

May Gurney IS

Yorkshire Water

Community Campaign of the Year

Southern Water

Three Valleys Water

Sustainability Award


Biwater Treatment

South West Water

Innovative Technology of the Year


eSAY/RPS Water


Customer Care Initiative of the Year

Biwater Treatment

Clancy Docwra/Southern Water

Southern Water/4D

Health & Safety Initiative of the Year

Biwater Treatment

Daniel Contractors


KMI Plus

May Gurney IS

Outstanding Individual Contribution to the Water Industry

Winner to be announced on the night

Here are the judges …

Two panels of industry experts have chosen the winners of the WIAA 2008.

Judges for the Technological Innovation Award

  • Dr Ian Pallet, technical director, British Water
  • Tom Hall, senior consultant, WRc
  • Professor Tom Stephenson, head of the School of Applied Sciences, Cranfield University
  • Steve Kaye, manager of innovation at Anglian Water Services
  • Frank Rogalla, director of the global advanced technology team at Black & Veatch

Judges for all other categories

  • John Aldridge, commercial director, British Water
  • Barrie Clarke, director of communications, Water UK
  • Darryl Newport, director of sustainability at the Graduate School, University of East London
  • Nick Reeves, executive director, CIWEM
  • Carol Hickman, executive director, Society of British Water and Wastewater Industries
  • David Hellier, water business manager, Energy & Utility Skills.

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie