Council of Irish Water Safety welcomes new members

Irish minister for the environment, community and local government Phil Hogan has announced the membership of the Council of Irish Water Safety (IWS).

Works by the safety body include the promotion of water safety in Ireland through public awareness campaigns, rescue skills and behaviour to prevent accidents.

Speaking last week (November 23), Mr Hogan said the group has been consistent in raising awareness of the dangers of drowning, as well as providing education and training in water safety.

Mr Hogan also paid tribute to outgoing chair of IWS Frank Nolan and other members for their work.

Stepping into the role of IWS chair is former chair of Kilkenny Water Safety Area Committee (WSAC) Breda Collin.

Other new members include; Michael Cuddihy, Brendan McGrath, Paul Murphy, John Considine, Anne Ryan, Tom Doyle, Lola O’Sullivan, Christy McDonagh and Tim O’Sullivan.

Carys Matthews

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie