EA chair joins edie judging panel

The new chairman of the Environment Agency, Chris Smith, has agreed to sit on the judging panel of edie's Awards for Environmental Excellence.

The Labour Lord and former Cabinet Minister took up the EA post at the beginning of the month following the departure of Sir John Harman.

He will join fellow edie judges Liz Goodwin, WRAP chief executive; Peter Bonfield, BRE director; Peter Stansby of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research and Tom Stpehenson, head of applied sciences at Cranfield University.

Judging of the awards will take place in the chairman’s office at the EA’s Milbank headquarters later in the summer.

The Awards for Environmental Excellence seek to celebrate the achievements of environmental consultants and the business world when it comes to progressing the sustainability agenda.

Full details of the awards can be found here

Sam Bond

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie