edie’s Net-Zero Awards 2024: Meet the judges

With the entry deadline for the Net-Zero Awards fast approaching, edie takes a closer look at the esteemed panel of judges who will be presiding over this year's submissions, featuring representatives from the Energy Transitions Commission, Eshcon, Race to Zero, the Climate Group and more.

edie’s Net-Zero Awards 2024: Meet the judges

Following on from a successful first year, edie’s Net-Zero Awards are back and bigger. With a little over two weeks until the entry deadline, its time to introduce you to our esteemed panel of judges.

From breakthrough innovations and technological solutions through to industry-leading carbon reduction programmes and ambitious energy management initiatives – this is THE awards scheme to have your decarbonisation efforts and achievements recognised by thousands of businesses and climate experts.

There is now just a few weeks left to submit your applications. The full list of 18 categories and criteria can be viewed here. The deadline for entries is 19 July and the shortlist will be unveiled in September. Finalists will attend a glittering ceremony on 29 November 2024.

A total of 18 categories have been developed for the Net-Zero Awards. Categories range from the Energy Efficiency Project of the Year and Behaviour Change Campaign of the Year to sector-specifics such as Retailer, Manufacturer and Consultancy of the Year.

Other standout categories include the Net-Zero Strategy of the Year to celebrate ambitious decarbonisations strategies, and the Net-Zero Hero award which will recognise outstanding individual performances when it comes to decarbonising business.

New for this year is a dedicated SME of the Year category, to celebrate the smaller firms taking bold climate action.

The Awards are open to all organisations with a UK presence across both the public and private sectors, and of all sizes from SMEs to the large multi-nationals. Winning a Net-Zero Award empowers teams, inspires stakeholders and ultimately accelerates the corporate net-zero transition.


Meet the judges…

  • Simon Graham, Head of Innovation, De Courcy Alexander
  • Andy Melia, Director, Heart of the City
  • Jane Eisenhardt, Engagement and Acceleration Manager, Race to Zero
  • Sarah Cook, Head of Environment, UN Global Compact
  • Alexander Gray, Deputy Director, External Affairs, Energy UK
  • Gudrun Cartright, Climate Action Director, BITC
  • Elliot Cyriax, Head of Strategy & Programmes, Bankers for Net-Zero
  • Jon Hughes, Head of Content, ADBA
  • Tracey Banks, Climate Action Programme Manager, British Retail Consortium
  • Mark Summerfeld, Deputy Director of Policy, REA
  • Anya Ledwith, Director, Eshcon
  • Lucy Erickson, Head of Strategic Communications, Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment
  • Jigna Chandaria, Head of Net-Zero, BBC
  • Ana Mates, Chief Operating Officer, Climate Group
  • Ita  Kettleborough, Director, Energy Transitions Commission
  • Baishakhi  Sengupta, Associate Director, Procurement ESG & Risk, Oxford Nanopore Technologies
  • Claire McMahon, Head of Environmental Delivery, Specsavers
  • Ruth Piggin, Director of Industry Sustainability, Scotch Whisky Association

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie