John Gormley has formally announced the (EPA) Environmental Protection Agency Review Group.

Establishing the froup follows on from a commitment made in the Programme for Government as far back as June 2007.

The purpose of the review is to assess the performance of the EPA, its scope and mandate, and to examine whether the agency has the ‘optimum structure’.

It will also look into what arrangements are in place to continue deliver its objectives effectively.

The minister said “Given the key role played by the agency in monitoring, maintaining and improving Ireland’s environmental performance, I attach a high level of importance to this review.

“Good environmental governance is a key priority for me and for the Government as a whole, in particular as an essential element of sustainable development.”

The review board will be Dr Kenneth Irvine, School of Natural Science, Zoology Department, Trinity College.

Professor Sharon Turner, chair of Environmental Law, Queens University Belfast, Mr Jack O’Sullivan, director Environmental Management Services and Dr Áine Ryall, Law Faculty, University College Cork.

Mr Fred Langeweg, former deputy director, Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency, Mr Larry Stapleton, formerfDirector, Environmental Protection Agency and Mr John McCarthy, assistant secretary, Environment Division, Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

Luke Walsh

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie