Last day to enter edie awards!

Final deadline for entry into the Sustainability Leaders Awards is close of play today - Friday June 29th - so if you haven't yet entered there's still all of today to make sure you're in the running, the perfect Friday activity!

From energy-saving or water-saving projects, carbon-reduction and waste management to sustainability reporting, sustainability communications and stakeholder engagement, if your organisation is engaged with the sustainability agenda, there’s a category for you. And it isn’t just the work that we’ll be rewarding – it’s the people that made it happen too. So as well as entering your project or initiative we want to know about the personnel involved, both at a strategic and a practical level, for our Sustainability Leader and Sustainability Practitioner categories.

Formerly the edie Awards for Environmental Excellence, the Sustainability Leaders Awards, organised by and Sustainable Business magazine, is the UK’s premier awards event for those demonstrating leadership and innovation in sustainability in both the private and public sectors.

Like its predecessor, the Sustainability Leaders Awards remains one of the few environmental awards schemes accredited by the RSA as an official feeder scheme for the European Commission’s EBAEs (European Business Awards for the Environment). This means our winners are deemed to be among the elite of UK award winners and, as such, have earned access to the European awards.

A full category list and judging criteria and the entry process are online. Deadline for entry, in the form of a 750-word case study, is June 29th.

Winners will be decided by a panel of the highest calibre, which will again be chaired by Environment Agency chairman Lord Smith. The judges currently comprise: Jonathon Porritt, environmentalist and founder director of Forum for the Future; Peter Jones OBE, founder director Ecolateral; Paul Scott,; Dr Peter Bonfield, chief executive of BRE; Liz Parkes, head of climate change, Environment Agency; Tom Stephenson, head of applied sciences, Cranfield University; Joanna Yarrow, director Beyond Green; Ed Gillespie, director of sustainable communication consultants Futerra.

Winners will be announced at a black-tie gala dinner on December 5th at London’s The Grange St Paul’s Hotel.

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie