Lottery chair among new faces at Environment Agency

Big Lottery Fund UK chairman Peter Ainsworth has been appointed to the board of the Environment Agency along with two other new members, Karen Burrows and Richard Leafe.

Ainsworth, who is also an environmental consultant, is a founder member of the Robertsbridge Group and has a strong background in the public sector, having served at senior levels both as a local councillor and as a MP in government and opposition.

Burrows comes with a legal and commercial professional background and has held several management roles. She joined BG Group in 1985 and was programme manager for its Fit for the Future project from 2007 – 2011.

Leafe has been chief executive of the Lake District National Park Authority since 2007. Other posts he has held include chair of the Scientific Council of the European Centre for Nature Conservation and a member of Defra’s flood and coastal defence research technical advisory group.

Meanwhile Robert Light has been re-appointed and will take up the post of deputy chair from October. Re-appointments have also been confirmed for Emma Howard Boyd, John Varley and Jeremy Walker.

The role of board members is to provide non-executive leadership challenge and support to the executive. They also undertake individual lead roles on relevant issues and with local operational teams.

Maxine Perella

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie