Council of Irish Water Safety welcomes new members

Irish minister for the environment, community and local government Phil Hogan has announced the membership of the Council of Irish Water Safety (IWS).

Works by the safety body include the promotion of water safety in Ireland through public awareness campaigns, rescue skills and behaviour to prevent accidents.

Speaking last week (November 23), Mr Hogan said the group has been consistent in raising awareness of the dangers of drowning, as well as providing education and training in water safety.

Mr Hogan also paid tribute to outgoing chair of IWS Frank Nolan and other members for their work.

Stepping into the role of IWS chair is former chair of Kilkenny Water Safety Area Committee (WSAC) Breda Collin.

Other new members include; Michael Cuddihy, Brendan McGrath, Paul Murphy, John Considine, Anne Ryan, Tom Doyle, Lola O'Sullivan, Christy McDonagh and Tim O'Sullivan.

Carys Matthews


| training



Click a keyword to see more stories on that topic, view related news, or find more related items.


You need to be logged in to make a comment. Don't have an account? Set one up right now in seconds!

© Faversham House Ltd 2011. edie news articles may be copied or forwarded for individual use only. No other reproduction or distribution is permitted without prior written consent.