Sustainability Leaders Awards 2017: Shortlist of finalists revealed

edie is delighted to announce the shortlist of finalists for the 2017 Sustainability Leaders Awards, which recognise the incredible people, initiatives and products that are helping to deliver excellence within the green economy.

Congratulations to the Sustainability Leaders Awards finalists. We look forward to celebrating with you all at the London Hilton on Park Lane on 25 January 2017

Congratulations to the Sustainability Leaders Awards finalists. We look forward to celebrating with you all at the London Hilton on Park Lane on 25 January 2017

Another huge year of entries saw an array of organisations large and small vying for a place on the shortlist for this year's Awards scheme, which has been refreshed with a host of new categories and a new ceremony venue

With such a broad selection of high-quality entries to preside over this year, edie hand-picked the 2017 Awards judges based on their specialist knowledge and experience within their own fields. Including representatives from the likes of Forum to the Future, WRAP, the Carbon Trust and Global Action Plan, the esteemed panel of judges has drawn up a shortlist of 125 entries across 19 categories.

The winners for each of the 19 categories will be announced as part of the prestigious Sustainability Leaders Awards ceremony and dinner, sponsored by Smartest Energy and the Energy Insititute, at the London Hilton on Park Lane in London on the evening of 25 January 2017. All finalists are now advised to book their place at the awards as soon as possible.

The full list of finalists is as follows...

Sustainability Leaders Awards 2017: The finalists

Carbon Management

Achilles Information and Enviro-Mark Solutions


Resolute Forest Products

Suffolk County Council & Carbon Smart

TATA Consultancy Services 

WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff

Consultancy of the Year (Large)



Corporate Citizenship


Mott MacDonald

Consultancy of the Year (Small)

Almach Energy

Carbon Clear

Eight Associates

Energise Ltd

Epi Consulting

Greengage Environmental

Simply Sustainable

Syzygy Renewables Limited

CSR, Charity & Community Initiative


City Harvest

Northumbrian Water Group


Total Gas & Power

VINCI Facilities

Willmott Dixon

Yorkshire Water Services Ltd

Employee Engagement & Behaviour Change

Amec Foster Wheeler

Costa Express & Simply Sustainable

Travis Perkins


Premier Foods

Royal Mail Group

Unite Students

Carlson Wagonlit Travel

Energy Institute Energy Manager of the Year

Ollie Rosevear, Costa Coffee

Rachel Ward, London Metropolitan University

Daniel Connor, Npower

Energy Management

Costa Coffee

Travis Perkins

London Metropolitan University

NG Bailey


RSA Insurance Group

Westfield Europe

Sustainability Leader (Person)

Georg Kell, Arabesque Asset Management Ltd

James Thornton, ClientEarth

Dr Mark Bristow, Randgold Resources

Gabrielle Ginér, BT

Fiona Daly, Barts Health NHS Trust

James Piper, Ecosurety

Paul Dobson, Premier Foods

Sustainability Product Innovation: Energy


Halcyan Ltd


Off Grid Energy 

Smartest Energy


Sustainability Product Innovation: Resources

Cranfield University


Frank Green Limited (UK)

International Synergies Limited



Samsung Electronics

Schneider Electric Energy and Sustainability Services

Waterscan Ltd

Sustainability Reporting

Amec Foster Wheeler



Home Office


Lloyds Banking Group

Virgin Media

Vodafone Group

Sustainability/CSR Manager of the Year

Hélène Carpentier, ISS Facility Services

Kristina Jackson, ISS Facility Services

James McMorrow, Anglia Route Collaboration

Sustainable Building of the Year

Canary Wharf Group


Honeywell Building Solutions

Medway Council with Hydrostat 



Sustainable Business of the Year


Anglia Ruskin University


Interserve plc

John Hogg Operational

McNicholas Construction Services

The Larkfleet Group


Sustainable Packaging

Simply Cups, Nextek Limited and AShortWalk


Multitank Ltd


Parkside Flexibles

Sustainable Supply Chains


Coca-Cola European Partners



McDonald's Restaurants

Resolute Forest Products


Sustainable Transport & Travel

Virgin Atlantic Airways

Fleetdrive Electric

HM Revenue & Customs

National Express

Elior UK

Martin Brower UK

Waste & Resource Management




Gatwick Airport

ISS Facility Services in partnership with RBS

Mars, Incorporated


CEMEX UK and Biffa

Water Management


Global Action Plan

Heathrow Airport

Northumbrian Water Group

Southern Water


A big congratulations to each and every one of this year’s finalists. We look forward to celebrating with you all at the glittering awards night at the London Hilton on Park Lane on 25 January 2017.

If you would like to be among the first to find out who this year's winners are, please do join us at the awards. The early-bird table rate expires on 30 November, so book your table before then to secure the best rate.

The Sustainability Leaders Awards will coincide with the edie Sustainability Leaders Forum, which takes place on 25-26 January 2017 at the Business Design Centre in London. Find out more and register to attend the Forum here.

Want to stay updated with the latest sustainabilty news for your business? Register with edie to receive free news updates.

edie staff


You need to be logged in to make a comment. Don't have an account? Set one up right now in seconds!

© Faversham House Ltd 2016. edie news articles may be copied or forwarded for individual use only. No other reproduction or distribution is permitted without prior written consent.