Sustainability Leaders Awards 2022: Winners revealed at dazzling ceremony

We're all winners when we're trying to make the planet a better place

The best of the best of sustainable businesses, NGOs and sustainability professionals met for the dazzling awards ceremony at Park Plaza Westminster to celebrate and recognise all the incredible people, projects and partnerships that are transforming business, for good!

A record-breaking year of entries saw 178 finalists shortlisted across 24 categories, with some of the evening’s standout individual winners including Magali Anderson, chief sustainability & innovation officer at Holcim– who was crowned the Sustainability Leader of the Year – and Crystal Door’s managing director Richard Hagan  – who scooped the Business Leader of the Year accolade. Meanwhile, Jean Billant of ReLondon was named Rising Sustainability Star.   

In the business categories, the Environment Agency won Net-Zero Carbon Strategy of the Year while Octopus Energy was crowned Business of the Year. Elsewhere, the LEAF Coalition won the award for Partnership and Collaboration of the Year.          

And, in a surprise announcement on the day, Lord Deben, chairman of the Climate Change Committee, was revealed as the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, joining the likes of Paula Polman, Dame Polly Courtice and Jonathon Porritt in receiving the prestigious award for their services.


Sustainability Leaders Awards 2022 – The winners

Lifetime Achievement Award    

Lord Deben

Building/Infrastructure Project of the Year        

Eurovia UK – Wendover Bypass

Nature and Biodiversity Project of the Year       

ClimateCare and Mikro-Tek – Mycorrhizal Forestry in Chile

Consumer Engagement/Marketing Campaign of the Year           

Utilita’s Energy High 5 campaign

Employee engagement and behaviour change Initiative of the Year       

WWF-UK and Silverback Films – Our Planet: Too Big To Fail

Energy Management Project of the Year            

YES Energy Solutions – The North Yorkshire Warm Homes Fund

Net-Zero Carbon Strategy of the Year   

Environment Agency – Delivering on Net Zero

Social Sustainability & Community Development           

Walgreens Boots Alliance – Walgreens Vaccine Equity Initiative

Sustainability Reporting & Communications      

Severn Trent and Luminous – Severn Trent Sustainability Report 2021

Transport/Fleet Management Initiative of the Year       

Mitie’s electric vehicle transition

Waste and Resource Management Project of the Year  

DPD’s focus on waste management

Water Management     

Dropless – Empowering drivers to sustainably manage their vehicles

Product Innovation of the Year

Interface’s carbon negative carpet tiles

Circular Economy Innovation of the Year            

Protec International – Proplex ClosedLoop Remanufacturing Scheme

Consultancy of the Year             

Anthesis Group

ESG Investor of the Year            

Tribe Impact Capital

SME of the Year             

Made for Drink

Partnership and Collaboration of the Year         

The LEAF Coalition

Rising Sustainability Star            

Jean Billant, ReLondon

Team of the Year           

Grosvenor Property UK

Net-Zero Leader of the Year      

Simon Dawes, Environment Agency

Sustainability Leader of the Year            

Magali Anderson, Holcim

Business Leader of the Year      

Richard Hagan, Crystal Doors

Business of the Year     

Octopus Energy

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners! Click here to Meet the Winners in our report.

edie staff

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie