Sustainability Leaders Awards 2019: Winners revealed at glittering ceremony in London

It was edie's biggest ever awards ceremony in the brand's 20-year history

The great and the good of sustainable business descended upon the Park Plaza Westminster for last night’s Awards which celebrated excellence from across the green economy and highlighted how organisations are making sustainability ‘Mission Possible’.

Hosted by Winterwatch presenter Michaela Strachan and featuring entertainment from Sara Pascoe, the event was edie’s biggest ever awards in the brand’s 20-year history, with 131 finalists shortlisted across 21 categories.


Proceedings began with a rousing opening address from former Unilever chief executive Paul Polman, who was the recipient of edie’s inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award.

Heathrow Airport took home the coveted Mission Possible Sustainable Business of the Year award, with judges praising the firm’s industry-leading approach that had cemented sustainability as a crucial topic across the organisation.

Norwich City Council, meanwhile, took home the Carbon Reduction award; Construction firm Tideway claimed the Mission Possible Mobility accolade; and JPA Furniture won the new Social Sustainability & Community Development award.

As for the individual awards, Unite Students’ James Tiernan took home the Energy Management Leader of the Year Award; Janice Lao of The Hongkong & Shanghai Hotels won the Sustainability Leader of the Year Award, and Charlie Jardine of EO Charging won the inaugural Rising Sustainability Star Award.

Sustainability Leaders Awards 2019 – The winners

Lifetime Achievement Award – Paul Polman

Mission Possible: Sustainable Business of the Year – Heathrow Airport

Energy Management Leader of the Year – James Tiernan, Unite Students (HIGHLY COMMENDED: Lara Young, Costain)

Sustainability Leader of the Year – Janice Lao, The Hongkong & Shanghai Hotels

Rising Sustainability Star – Charlie Jardine, EO Charging (HIGHLY COMMENDED: Pavan Juttla, Multiplex Construction Europe)

Employee Engagement & Behaviour Change – ScottishPower

Team of the Year – innocent

Sustainable Supply Chains – Thai Union, WWF

Energy Efficiency – Ibstock Brick

Waste Management & Resource Efficiency – Canary Wharf Group

Circular Economy Innovation of the Year – Yellow Octopus Fashion

CSR Engagement/Marketing Campaign of the Year – Ikea

Social Sustainability & Community Development – JPA Furniture

Carbon Reduction – Norwich City Council

Water Management – Adnams

Low-carbon Product Innovation of the Year – Mitsubishi Electric

Mission Possible: Mobility – Tideway

Mission Possible: The Built Environment – Landsec

Sustainability Product Innovation of the Year – Nutreco and Skretting

Sustainability Reporting & Communications – PepsiCo and MerchantCantos

Consultancy of the Year – Forster Communications

Congratulations to all of the night’s winners. A Full winners’ report featuring descriptions of every entry will be published on edie shortly… 


edie staff

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie