Sustainability Leaders Awards 2020: Winners revealed at glittering ceremony in London

Congratulations to all our deserved winners

The great and the good of sustainable business descended upon the Park Plaza Westminster for last night’s Awards which celebrated excellence from across the green economy and highlighted how organisations are making sustainability ‘Mission Possible’.


Hosted by renowned presenter Julia Bradbury, the event was edie’s biggest ever awards in the brand’s history, with 180 finalists shortlisted across 23 categories.

Chocolate manufacturers Barry Callebaut took home two awards including the coveted Business of the Year Award and the Employee Engagement and behaviour change initiative category. Judges praised the firm’s leadership position which has seen the company attempt to promote sustainability across an entire sector.

Elsewhere on the night, Ikea’s Greenwich Store was named as the Building Project of the Year, while The Climate Group scooped the Carbon Reduction Project of the Year for its EV100 initiative.

As for individual awards, Ibstock Brick’s Michael McGowan and the Co-op’s Cathryn Higgs won awards for energy management leadership and sustainability leadership respectively. Elsewhere, the BBC’s Steve Burgess picked up the Rising Star award.

Sustainability Leaders Awards 2020 – The winners

Lifetime Achievement Award – Jonathon Porritt

Building/Infrastructure Project of the Year – IKEA – Greenwich Store

Carbon Reduction Project of the Year – The Climate Group – EV100

Consumer Engagement/Marketing Campaign of the Year – City to Sea – National Refill day

Employee engagement and behaviour change Initiative of the Year – Barry Callebaut – Seeds for Change

Energy Efficiency Project of the Year – Whitbread’s Premier Inn Energy Storage Trial

Social Sustainability & Community Development – Honeywell Hometown Solutions – Safe Water Network Initiative

Supply Chain Excellence – Ella’s Kitchen

Sustainability Reporting & Communications – SIG

Transport/Fleet Management Initiative of the Year – DPD – Road to Zero

Waste and Resource Management Project of the Year – Marston’s and UKWSL

Water Management – The Coca-Cola Foundation working in partnership with WWF UK

Product Innovation of the Year – Powervault

Technological Innovation of the year – Kaluza

Circular Economy Innovation of the Year – P&G HolyGrail 2.0

Consultancy of the Year – Given London

Investor of the Year – CBRE Global Investors

SME of the Year – Toast Ale

Rising Sustainability Star – Steve Burgess – BBC

Team of the Year – Willmott Dixon

Energy Management Leader of the Year – Michael McGowan – Ibstock Brick

Sustainability Leader of the Year – Cathryn Higgs – Co-op

Business of the Year – Barry Callebaut

Congratulations to all of the night’s winners. A Full winners’ report featuring descriptions of every entry will be published on edie shortly…

edie staff

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie