A chance to celebrate – and reward the best

Nominations have opened for the Water Industry Achievement Awards 2011. Now is the time to consider the services, products and technologies that deserve industry-wide recognition for going beyond the call of duty to deliver value.

The Water Industry Achievement Awards are back. The awards are now under way for 2011, which means it’s time to get those entries and nominations rolling in – the closing date is January 6, 2011.

Organised by sister journals WET News and Water & Wastewater Treatment, the awards are back for the fifth year running to celebrate and reward the outstanding innovation and best practice demonstrated by the UK water industry.

The WIA Awards are not just about meeting those regulatory targets or fulfilling framework agreements. The awards are about going beyond the call of duty to deliver value, whether it involves a service, product or technology.

They offer industry-wide recognition and acclaim to the innovative and cutting-edge achievements of companies – no matter how big or small. With 11 main award categories, the awards present a great opportunity to benchmark outstanding successes in key areas such as:

• Supply chain partnerships

• Carbon reduction

• Innovative use of groundbreaking and existing technology

• Recruitment, training, staff retention

• Health & safety

• Customer satisfaction

• Sustainable drainage

Entries are being encouraged for the following categories:

• Partnership Initiative of the Year.

Best practice will be recognised for partnerships that produce efficiency gains, safer work sites, clearer tendering and product supply, and more effective buying solutions

• FOG (Fats, Oils & Grease)

Reduction Initiative of the Year. This award will recognise those companies whose initiatives have made a real impact in reducing the effects of FOG

• Customer Satisfaction Initiative of the Year

This category is about the action taken by water companies, contractors or sub-contractors, above and beyond their statutory requirements, and capital investment programmes, to ensure customers receive the service they expect

• Carbon Reduction Initiative of the Year

This award will recognise those companies whose initiatives have made a real impact in reducing carbon footprint

• Community Project of the Year

For companies whose community initiatives put the public’s wellbeing first and foremost

• Health & Safety Initiative of the Year

This award will recognise exceptional commitment to all-round health and safety by a company or organisation within the industry

• People Initiative of the Year

This award seeks out successful, innovative recruitment, training and staff retention initiatives that all parts of the industry can learn from.

• SUDS & Flood Management Initiative of the Year

This category will reward cutting edge solutions or strategies for sustainable drainage and flood management

• Most Innovative New Technology of the Year

This award is for a product or technology that is truly ground-breaking, and has only been available within the past 12 months or less

• Most Innovative Use of an Existing Technology

This category rewards the most innovative application of an existing product or technology that has been in the market place before February 2010

• Outstanding Individual Contribution to the Water Industry

This award is for an individual who has made an outstanding and important contribution to the industry, helping raise standards, improving the industry’s image, or opening up a new area of the market

The WIA Awards are open to water companies, contractors and suppliers of ALL sizes. The awards’ judging panels are only interested in the entries, not a company’s size – no matter how large or small. And one of the category winners will walk away with the Outstanding Innovation 2011 crown. This year, Anglian Water and its partnering contractors walked away with the title – will you in 2011?

The Water Industry Achievement Awards 2011 ceremony will take place at a prestigious gala dinner on March 29 next year at the International Convention Centre in central Birmingham.
Entering the Water Industry Achievement Awards is simple – just visit www.waterindustryachievementawards.info to download and complete the entry form for the category you wish to enter (don’t forget you can enter several categories) and return it to us by January 6, 2011. Entries can be emailed to [email protected].
There is a tremendous amount of innovation and research going on in the water industry as companies seek solutions to meet the challenges of the future. Also, there are individuals who have gone beyond the call of duty in their everyday jobs.

Let us know what you have done and how you have succeeded. Do you know of companies or individuals whose innovative and cutting-edge achievements deserve recognition from their industry peers? Then nominate them for an award. The January 6, 2011 closing date will be here sooner than you think, so get working on those entries. The clock is ticking!

Details about next year’s awards and sponsorship opportunities are online at www.waterindustryachievementawards.info

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie