Chris Smith to chair edie awards

Edie is excited to announce that Rt Hon Lord Smith, chairman of the Environment Agency, is to chair this year's edie Awards for Environmental Excellence.

Chris Smith has been chairman of the Environment Agency since 2008. He has had a varied and distinguished political career.

He has been an MP for Islington South and Finsbury, Shadow Secretary of State for Environmental Protection and Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport. He became a life peer in 2005 and currently sits on the crossbenches as an independent peer.

Lord Smith will head up a team of judges including Peter Bonfield, of BRE, Peter Jones OBE, formerly of Biffa, Liz Parkes of the Environment Agency and Isabel Dedring from the Mayor of London’s office.

This year the awards are open to products as well as projects for the first time, so we are looking forward to receiving a wide variety of entries.

The edie awards are now open for entries and you can enter and find out more at the awards website.

The deadline for entries is Friday 28 April, so make sure you don’t miss out on the opportunity to get your business recognised.

The edie Awards for Environmental Excellence 2011 are RSA accredited and have the opportunity to go forward to the coveted European Business Awards for the Environment.

Alison Brown

Action inspires action. Stay ahead of the curve with sustainability and energy newsletters from edie