Ministerial environment team finalised

Defra's newly appointed Ministerial team has been announced, with Margaret Beckett retaining the position of Secretary of State for the Environment.

Elliot Morley is Minister of State for Climate Change and Environment, and Ben Bradshaw becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Local Environment, Marine and Animal Welfare.

Lord Bach of Lutterworth succeeds Lord Whitty as Parliamentary Secretary in the Lords for sustainable farming and food, while Jim Knight, MP for Dorset South, becomes Parliamentary Secretary in the Commons for rural affairs, landscape and biodiversity.

Margaret Beckett said the team was looking forward to the important challenges which lie ahead in delivering the priorities set out in Defra's Five Year Strategy:

"The UK's forthcoming presidency of the EU offers new opportunities for global leadership on agriculture, climate change and environmental protection. With commitment and determination we will continue to work for a better environment and quality of life for everyone."

By David Hopkins



Click a keyword to see more stories on that topic, view related news, or find more related items.


You need to be logged in to make a comment. Don't have an account? Set one up right now in seconds!

© Faversham House Ltd 2005. edie news articles may be copied or forwarded for individual use only. No other reproduction or distribution is permitted without prior written consent.